Lady GaGa G.U.Y Video Review

Pop superstar’s new video; kinda!

ImageProxy

The reason I say Kinda, is because this new music video from Lady Gaga is almost a compilation rolled into one. Okay, so the main single is G.U.Y. her third official single from ArtPop, however, what we get here is also a video of sorts to accompany the songs Venus and ArtPop. Lost yet? Well you may be more so when you watch the actual video!
    Now, I’m a self confessed Gaga fan so I’ll try and be as unbiased as possible. The first part of the video, I confess has me confused. I don’t really know what’s going on as she is splayed out as a fallen angel surrounded by a haggle of men in suits helping themselves to supposedly, her cash. There are plenty of metaphors scattered around here, that I gather are about her apparent and unfounded fall from grace or that she is slipping from the mainstream a little, and she appears happy to acknowledge this. I’m going to have to watch it a few times more I think to get the full meaning behind each scene.
    That said, she emerges from a swimming pool as an ethereal showgirl re-born. A theme I think you’ll agree that Lady Gaga seems to keep coherent in a lot of her videos; Pokerface given her emergence from the swimming pool. Born This Way, her giving herself a re-birth as a new artist in the opening scenes. Paparazzi; her flourishing feather ensemble after being wheelchair bound in the earlier scenes. Hopefully you can see where I am going with this!
    Lady Gaga has treated this video as a short film of sorts with almost four minutes of credits that roll at the end over her track Manicure. This takes me back to the days of Michael Jackson videos where we were often treated to epic videos of over ten minutes in length. Okay, so she has been doing this for a while and it’s nice to see that method of video making back after a short video for Applause and no video at all for Do What You Want.
    This short film is plush, splashed with cash and the Gaga of old; fashion and decadence throughout; as well as a fair old bit of frantic choreography. Give it a watch, even if you don’t like Gaga, as you don’t see video of this magnitude everyday. Watch it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PNu_-deVemE
 
Words by Peter Richards
Twitter: @PeterRich81
